Cult Boston synth act FREEZEPOP release the ‘Doppelganger’ EP accompanied by a new cut of the title track’s brilliant promo video directed by Mike Gill.

This version features scenes of a more graphic Heavy Metal nature… you have been warned!

Bittersweet yet bouncy, matter-of-fact yet fun, ‘Doppelganger’ tells that classic tale of finding out that your ex has replaced you with a facsimile of yourself.

Originally from the album ‘Imaginary Friends’ issued in Autumn 2010, this collection of quirky electropop by the current line–up of Liz Enthusiasm, Sean T Drinkwater, Robert John Foster and Marie Sagan won many plaudits.

One of the album’s other highlights was ‘Hypothetically’ with its nonchalant female vocals and Numan-esque vox humana lead lines set to beefed-up Klingklang beats while another, ‘Lady Spider’ with its layers of steamed powered string machine was a great NEW ORDER styled disco number than wouldn’t have sounded out of place on ‘Technique’.

Including a variety of remixes, the ‘Doppelganger’ EP is released as a download on 19th June 2012 and can be purchased from the FREEZEPOP online store along with various formats of ‘Imaginary Friends’.


1. Doppelganger (album version)
2. Backfired (2012 mix)
3. Doppelganger (DJ Die Young Remix)
4. Special Effects (Hanssen Remix)
5. Lose That Boy (Death of the Cool Remix)
6. Doppelganger (Plushgun 90s Edit)
7. Special Effects (Paolo Prevosto’s Simulakrum Lab Remix)
8. Doppelganger (Douchey Mix)
9. Doppelganger (Nice Mix)

FREEZEPOP also play the following live dates with LIFESTYLE:

Brooklyn Knitting Factory (22 June), Philadelphia Kung Fu Necktie (23 June), New York Rochester Club at Water Street (24 June)

Text by Chi Ming Lai
16th June 2012